If you don’t want to use OneDrive, the easiest solution is to unlink it.

If you want to stop syncing for a while, you can temporarily pause OneDrive and then resume syncing later. Learn how to pause and resume sync in OneDrive.

Notes:

  • You won’t lose files or data by disabling or uninstalling OneDrive on your computer. You can always access your files by signing in to OneDrive.com.
  • In Windows 10, OneDrive is the default save location for your files and documents. This means new documents or files are automatically saved to OneDrive unless you opt to save them to a different location on your PC. Learn more about how files save to OneDrive by default in Windows 10.

Unlink OneDrive

  1. Select the white or blue OneDrive cloud icon in the notification area, at the far right of the taskbar.

    OneDrive SyncClient with blue cloud and white cloud icons

    Note: You might need to click the Show hidden icons arrow The Show hidden icons button. next to the notification area to see the OneDrive icon. If the icon doesn’t appear in the notification area, OneDrive might not be running. Select Start, type OneDrive in the search box, and then select OneDrive in the search results.

     

  2. Select More > Settings.

    Screenshot of getting to OneDrive Settings

     

  3. On the Account tab, click Unlink this PC and then Unlink account.

     

Content retrieved from: https://support.office.com/en-us/article/turn-off-disable-or-uninstall-onedrive-f32a17ce-3336-40fe-9c38-6efb09f944b0.